300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being a married cop

How is everyone doing? I am about to ask my long time girlfriend to marry me soon. When I graduate from my university I am going to apply to become a cop. my question is, me and my girlfriend are very close and spend lots of time together, how will life be once I am a cop. Is it very hard to have a succesful marriage life and how did you do it, if any of you were in my situation.

not a cop but im in the same situation, ive read alot of these topics and the general consensus is that its very hard and the number key is having a wife who knows what shes getting into(in my case my gf has an uncle who is a highway patrolman and is close with his wife so she has a general idea of what shes getting into) and just in basic terms knowing that it will be hard but worth it to be both married and a cop

Comment

yea lucky for me my gf's uncle is a PD captain, and he's been married for 25 years so it is possible. And he also got married before he became a cop.

Comment

married to a cop

Well, I've been married for 28 years and have been a cop for 25. Believe me, it takes a lot of patience on both of your parts. It was tough in the beginning and the worst thing you can do is convince yourself that she wouldn't understand the things you go through. Even if you think you don't want to worry her with gruesome details, find a way to share them. You'll be surprised at how understanding a good woman can be. And don't think that you have to blow off steam with the boys every time you have a stressful shift. Occassionally, sure, but you need to let your wife know when you are having a rough time. You'd be there for those you protect and serve, so let her be there for you. Thats my advice and it works for me.
        Jerry
        "If all else fails, stop using all else!"

Comment

//////////
          Last edited by Harleydude; 01-12-2006, 08:07 AM.
          Just the facts ma`am, just the facts.