300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Debt as a result of an injury on duty

I was injured last August whilst arresting a male and whilst awaiting treatment for two prolapsed discs and a hernia my force decided to put me on half pay. I am a third generation police officer with a very good record. As a result of this I nearly lost my house and got behind with payments. It has effected my family greatly.
    As anyone out there been in similar circumstances and how the hell do I get myself back on a level footing????

Can anyone help???
    Last edited by jmc; 08-09-2005, 10:54 AM.

I'm sorry to hear all of that.
    I work as a bill collector during my summers off from college so I have a little experience with debt.
    First thing I recommend is to get a home equity loan. Depending on how much you get, you can pay everything off and just have to worry about one bill.
    Try and get as many of the companies you owe money to to settle. The collection agency I work for collects for banks, Bellsouth, and medical bills. The banks and Bellsouth will usually settle, maybe not on the medical bills.