Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

For LEOs with kids who turned out to be turds... what went wrong?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For LEOs with kids who turned out to be turds... what went wrong?

Long story short. A few months back, I went to a burglary complaint. The complainant was a retired officer from a neighboring agency. Turns out the suspect is her adult son. He stole some blank checks from his mom's retirement account. Mom tells me son is a drug addict and has been in and out of jail all of his life.

I was curious, so I asked her, "What went wrong?" She mentioned problems during delivery which may have affected her son mentally. She also tells me that she and her husband had marital problems. She also mentioned the hours that she had to work as a detective kept her away from home.

I have 2 kids. My daughter is 5, and my son is 2. I addition to being a cop, I am a religious person. I try to teach my kids to do the right thing, like telling the clerk at McDonald's if she undercharged me. I don't drink or smoke. In a perfect world, I would love it if neither my kids ever drank or smoke. However, I know that will never happen. I don't want to preach or push my kids so hard that they will rebel and do the opposite I tell them. I don't want my kids to be LEOs, because I know how much this job can suck. If they want to be cops, great. I'll support them, but I will not push them towards this profession.

So, if anyone wishes to share... If you are a cop and your kids turned out to be lawbreakers when they became adults, why? I know there is no easy answer to this question.
    "I assume you all have guns and crack."

I have 2 kids also (girls, 5 &10) and I worry about the same things.
    So I try to teach them right and be there for them. There are times where work gives me little time to spend with them, but when the schedule allows it I spend every free time with them.