300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Police wives/significant others/girlfriend's/fiance'

Hi! My husband is in the process for applying for two law enforcement agencies. I am new to everything, so I am looking for support. He is in the back ground phase for one and doing the psychological for the other. No one in my family work in law enforcement. So I am trying to get information about being a spouse to a cop. I have looked in the forum, search the internet and there is nothing for spouses, that need help with this process.
    The only thing I found was for wives and/or
    significant others that are in already.
    Please help I appreciate any information that will be given. Even groups I can go to. Also how to support him during this long process.
    Thank you

Two book recommendations:

Kevin Gilmartin "Emotional Survival for Law Enforcement."

Ellen Kirschman "I Love a Cop."
    Originally posted by Michigan
    Now that you mention it, who are you?

Comment

facebook has a site thing also for LEO wives, The ladies there im sure can help you.Everyone of them have been where you are at one time in their lives.

Comment

Thank you so much will check out the websites. I am trying to be his biggest supporter by getting knowledge of the process.

Comment

Originally posted by jdthor View Post
          facebook has a site thing also for LEO wives, The ladies there im sure can help you.Everyone of them have been where you are at one time in their lives.
          I went on Facebook and the groups they have
          are private. I will keep on trying.

Comment

Originally posted by michellemtjpjt View Post
            I went on Facebook and the groups they have
            are private. I will keep on trying.
            If possible, send one of the members or the group a message and see what happens. My wife is on facebook and is a member of that group. She just doesn't tell me jack squat about what they talk about.