300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need to rant

I'm jobless again. Although this time it's by choice. I worked in a restaurant as a dishwasher/ line cook/ prep cook/ grill cook. I had a general manager who was literally lazy. He never did his job. Then I had a kitchen manager 1 step below the general manager who was the best. He did an excellent job of managing the restaurant, actually got his hands dirty helping everyone, and definately helped me out a lot. He said not only was I his favorite worker, but his best worker. Anytime he worked, people were actually scheduled. But the general manager mostly does the scheduling. That means that he doesn't schedule people for certain shifts, so I could be busting my *** working up to 3 peoples jobs at a time for 12-15 hours without even a 5 minute break. That's no exaggeration and it was like that every single day for the past 2 months. Some people quit which made it even worse because we were short on employees as is. With no other employees, a bunch of current employees who either get sent home early or don't do their job, it left me with a LOT of work, not to mention they all get paid more than me. The manager's kept promising me a raise, but I never got one. Not to mention I actually saved everyones jobs there.

The head manager wasn't doing his job correctly so everything fell onto us and the other 3 managers. The regional manager and president of the company wanted to come in and fire everyone if food cost wasn't down. I spent sometimes as much as 3 hours working after my shift for FREE cleaning the place and managing the place the best I can and got food cost down and made the place look good. No one got fired and the president and regional manager said it was one the cleanest out of all the restaurants in the chain.