300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what would you do?

So i've been a customs officer for about 2 years now, recently i been offered a postion to work with a contractor in afganistan, doing what i did before telecom networking. Im currently in el paso tx but im from florida i was thinking if i do take this postion i would move my family back to fl, and go from there i really want the best for my family but i really having a hard time deciding what to do. The money is good here but i would never make then amount they are offering me. What would you guys do?
    "Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference. The Marines don't have that problem." President Ronald Reagan.

What type of danger would you be in on a daily basis? Would the the money justify you being injured? How long would you be there for? Will you have a contract with this company? How much defensive/offensive training will you receive before you go? Will you be allowed to carry a weapon when you are over there? What would the living conditions be like (not sure if it matters but thought I'd throw it out there)? What type of international driver's license will you need? What type of health insurance will you have for your family? What type of support will the company provide to your family while you are gone? Will your immediate family have support from other family members in Florida?

Per my hubby? The forieign income you made ther first two years is tax exempt, until you come back to the US (www.irs.gov, foreign income). Are you prepared to pay full federal and state taxes on the money. Is that worth you being away from your family for two years or possible eternity if you lose your life.

My husband was offered this type of position and this is what he found out doing the research. Sounds like you need to do a lot more research before you make a decision.

Comment