300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stressed

Please tell me if I'm wrong guys. I've been helping my Mom with my Gma for almost ten years now. My Gdad died in 2000 and me and my Mom have been helping her. We were helping them before my Gdad passed away. No one else in my family helps out that much. My Mom and me pretty much have the load to carry. I'm not trying to complain, I'm just burnt out and would like to take a break. My Gma has alzheimer's and she can't take care of herself anymore. If me and my Mom took a break, I feel that she would be neglected by family members. My Dad's father died last Jan. and me and my sister are helping my Gma out as well. It's an hour drive to pick her up and take her where she needs to go. I'm just really tired all the time, and like I said, I'm really burnt out from doing this for so long. I don't want anything to happen to my grandparents, but I wish that other family members would help out more. Am I wrong for feeling this way?
    www.amyandwandasrants.blogspot.com

I have been where you are and I wish I had some magic words to make it better. My mother has alzheimers. My wife and I took care of her until she became to violent. We had to put her in a nursing home.
    Some of the bigger towns/cities have adult day care centers, that my be one option for getting a short break.

Comment

You may want to start looking at facilities that might better care for her. There may come a time when her needs will become more then you can handle. Sometimes there are waiting lists to get into decent places. Sometimes its easier to get a loved one in a nice place when they still are somewhat functional.