300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you give tickets while off-duty?

My friend and I were dicussing this and I wanted to see what you guys thought?

Can you give tickets when off duty? If so, would you have to pull the person over? Or could you simply mail it to them?

Yes, we can cite someone on duty or off. As a practical matter, I have been a cop for over 25 years and I have never stopped someone off duty. I don't have lights in my personal vehicles and I get enough of that when I am working.

A person does not have to be stopped to be cited for a violation. I have mailed a number of citations over the years. Usually it is something like Driving After Suspension or Driving After Revocation where I determine there is a violation and for whatever reason I mail it to them. Sometimes I learn that after the fact and other times I am too busy to deal with it at the time. Some of them end up going to warrant because the folks that are suspended or revoked don't always have a current address listed. We do have limitations on when someone can be charged, however. Without checking the specific statute, most charges here must be filed within 3 years of the alleged offense.

Keep in mind that I am replying as it pertains to Minnesota. Things very well may be different in other areas.
    Last edited by Jim1648; 12-15-2007, 05:43 PM. Reason: Additional Details

Comment

Originally posted by blunas
      Do you give tickets while off-duty?

My friend and I were dicussing this and I wanted to see what you guys thought?

Can you give tickets when off duty? If so, would you have to pull the person over? Or could you simply mail it to them?
      Yes, I "can".

No, I "do not" as a general rule, not in some many years.