300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One License Plate Driving Through 2-Plate State-Threatened with Citation

I am a legal resident of Kentucky, and consequently my car is legally registered in Kentucky. Kentucky only issues a single license plate, and consequently I only have a single plate on the rear of my vehicle.

A few weeks ago, I was driving through Illinois and stopped to get gas in a rural, southern portion of the state. A local sheriff's deputy was at the neighboring pump, and while he was there looked at the back of my car, looked at the front and then walked over and said "I could cite you for only having one license plate on your car." My response was something along the lines of "Kentucky doesn't offer front plates." The deputy responded with(paraphrasing) "It doesn't matter-you need two plates to drive in Illinois. I'm not going to bother you about it today, but you need to get it taken care of." I thanked him for the advice, and then finished up my business and promptly got out of the state(I was less than a mile from the IL-IN state line).

Is the officer correct that I can be cited for only having one plate when the state where my car is registered only issues one? If so, is there a way that I can legally travel through Illinois(something I regularly do) without a potential problem from my legal-in-Kentucky vehicle?

Originally posted by mg-guy View Post
    ...Is the officer correct that I can be cited for only having one plate when the state where my car is registered only issues one? If so, is there a way that I can legally travel through Illinois(something I regularly do) without a potential problem from my legal-in-Kentucky vehicle?
    I wouldn't even give any further thought. There are only about 19 states that only issue one license plate. He probably was unaware of that. Don't worry about it.

Comment