Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Consent Search--legal Or Illegal

Hey all

I am from Illinois and just recently became a police officer near chicago. My question is I have heard a lot of different view points on this topic so I thought I would throw it out there and see what you guys all think. I think it is legal to turn a traffic stop into a consent search but i am also a rookie so I am probably wrong just post your replies thanks again guys.
    Peace
    Be Safe
    OfcHayes

Nothing wrong with the question.

Just remember the word "Consent", as long you ask, and the driver gives his consent, go at it. Some departments, have a consent form that the drivers would sign before you start.

Comment

Consent to search may be granted, it may also be refused, or withdrawn at any time (even if it was granted by signing a form) and if there is at that time, no other grounds for search, the search must stop.

The refusal of consent, or the withdrawal of consent alone are not probable cause to search, or to continue the search.

To be valid, consent must be freely given, and without coercion. To avoid the claim of coercion, the reason for the stop should be concluded and the papers returned to the driver along with the OL and Reg. Standing there holding a person's OL and Reg as if deciding to write or warn is not the time to ask for free and voluntary consent to search.
      Adios amigos.

Comment

I'm new myself, but my understanding is that for the most part in Illinois, the questioning must stay in line with the scope of the stop for simple IVC violations. The problem is that when you try to go from the IVC stop to a consent search it better be very clear that it has become a consensual encounter.
        For the cops out there: You are an adult. If you want to write someone, write them. If you don't want to write someone, then don't write them.

"Jeff, you are the best cop on this board"-Anonymous Post

Comment