Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Passing a school bus

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Passing a school bus

    Hi everyone, I am from Chicago, Illinois, and just got a ticket for failed to stop for a school bus. Anyone know what the maximum penalty is for a first offense for failed to stop for a school bus loading/unloading passengers? No accident/injury, and not a construction zone. Just got a different ticket 5 to 6 months ago for speeding 21 mph over limit. This school bus ticket will be my 3rd moving violation in the last 7 years.

    I read that this is consider as a serious traffic violation and wasn't sure should I be hiring an attorney for $850. Thanks!

  • #2
    Originally posted by dreamywind
    Hi everyone, I am from Chicago, Illinois, and just got a ticket for failed to stop for a school bus. Anyone know what the maximum penalty is for a first offense for failed to stop for a school bus loading/unloading passengers? No accident/injury, and not a construction zone. Just got a different ticket 5 to 6 months ago for speeding 21 mph over limit. This school bus ticket will be my 3rd moving violation in the last 7 years.

    I read that this is consider as a serious traffic violation and wasn't sure should I be hiring an attorney for $850. Thanks!
    dont know about the fine because im not from there, but yes this is a serious offense, too many kids get deceased due to it, very negligent to do it, why hire a lawyer, if you loose the ticket, you are probly looking around $100 to $150 or so,, if you hire a lawyer and win, you still pay court cost and pay the lawyer $who knows what, but i bet its more than $150, besides, you dont seem to think you are innocent, why not admit your transgressions?

    Comment


    • #3
      Misdemeanor in Indiana

      Passing a school bus while loading or unloading is a misdemeanor here. In short, it is a jailable offense.

      Comment


      • #4
        I think that the fine here is around $500

        Passing a loading/unloading school bus is a very expensive thing to do.

        Comment


        • #5
          in minnesota (at least the county fine schedule im in) is a $177.00 fine. doesn't really seem worth an atty. call to me. own up to your issues and pay the fine. Consider yourself lucky a child wasn't in your way at the time then maybe an atty. would be needed.

          Comment


          • #6
            Three moving violations in seven years?? Sounds like it's time for a driver education refresher course before someone gets hurt. At any rate, you may want to determine how many points will be assessed against your license if you plead or are found guilty. If you find that your license could be suspended (especially if you have already accumulated some points) then retaining an attorney might be the best course to take.

            Comment


            • #7
              Here in PA you would be looking at $250 fine plus $80.50 costs in addition to 5 points and a 60 day license suspension.
              " (T)o preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of the people always possess arms, and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them.... " Richard Henry Lee, 1788

              Comment


              • #8
                (625 ILCS 5/11‑1414) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11‑1414)
                (Text of Section from P.A. 93‑180)
                Sec. 11‑1414. Approaching, overtaking, and passing school bus.
                (a) The driver of a vehicle shall stop such vehicle before meeting or overtaking, from either direction, any school bus stopped at any location for the purpose of receiving or discharging pupils. Such stop is required before reaching the school bus when there is in operation on the school bus the visual signals as specified in Sections 12‑803 and 12‑805 of this Code. The driver of the vehicle shall not proceed until the school bus resumes motion or the driver of the vehicle is signaled by the school bus driver to proceed or the visual signals are no longer actuated.

                ....

                (f) Beginning with the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1985, the Secretary of State shall suspend for a period of 3 months the driving privileges of any person convicted of a violation of subsection (a) of this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance; the Secretary shall suspend for a period of one year the driving privileges of any person convicted of a second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance if the second or subsequent violation occurs within 5 years of a prior conviction for the same offense. In addition to the suspensions authorized by this Section, any person convicted of violating this Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance shall be subject to a mandatory fine of $150 or, upon a second or subsequent violation, $500. The Secretary may also grant, for the duration of any suspension issued under this subsection, a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle between the driver's residence and place of employment or within other proper limits that the Secretary of State shall find necessary to avoid any undue hardship. A restricted driving permit issued hereunder shall be subject to cancellation, revocation and suspension by the Secretary of State in like manner and for like cause as a driver's license may be cancelled, revoked or suspended; except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension or cancellation of the restricted driving permit. The Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require the applicant to participate in a designated driver remedial or rehabilitative program. Any conviction for a violation of this subsection shall be included as an offense for the purposes of determining suspension action under any other provision of this Code, provided however, that the penalties provided under this subsection shall be imposed unless those penalties imposed under other applicable provisions are greater.
                The owner of any vehicle alleged to have violated paragraph (a) of this Section shall, upon appropriate demand by the State's Attorney or other authorized prosecutor acting in response to a signed complaint, provide a written statement or deposition identifying the operator of the vehicle if such operator was not the owner at the time of the alleged violation. Failure to supply such information shall be construed to be the same as a violation of paragraph (a) and shall be subject to the same penalties herein provided. In the event the owner has assigned control for the use of the vehicle to another, the person to whom control was assigned shall comply with the provisions of this paragraph and be subject to the same penalties as herein provided.
                For the cops out there: You are an adult. If you want to write someone, write them. If you don't want to write someone, then don't write them.

                "Jeff, you are the best cop on this board"-Anonymous Post

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by dreamywind
                  I read that this is consider as a serious traffic violation and wasn't sure should I be hiring an attorney for $850. Thanks!
                  Its the highest violation just below Careless and Reckless here. 5 points on your driving record, and a mandatory appearance.
                  What is it about, "Thou shalt not.....", do some people not understand?
                  Matthew 5:9 Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Mr. Security
                    Three moving violations in seven years?? Sounds like it's time for a driver education refresher course before someone gets hurt.
                    I can't tell if you are joking or not. 3 moving violations in seven years is nothing. I often come across people with 3 moving violations in 3 months.

                    If you think you need an attorney, get one. If you think you can defend yourself, try that instead. If you are worried about the reprocussions, plead not guilty at the initial hearing. Get ahold of the city attorney and work out a deal. See if you can get the offense amended to something less serious. Good luck.
                    "I assume you all have guns and crack."

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      "3 moving violations in seven years is nothing. I often come across people with 3 moving violations in 3 months."

                      The problem isn't when you come across them; it's when they come across the centerline and kill someone

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        $200.00 fine here. $200 vs. $850 you make the call.
                        The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, "I'm from the government and I'm here to help."
                        Ronald Reagan

                        Comment

                        MR300x250 Tablet

                        Collapse

                        What's Going On

                        Collapse

                        There are currently 5835 users online. 316 members and 5519 guests.

                        Most users ever online was 26,947 at 07:36 PM on 12-29-2019.

                        Welcome Ad

                        Collapse
                        Working...
                        X