Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there a 5-7mph leway on speed limits?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there a 5-7mph leway on speed limits?

My husband is a retired mp and told me this, he also stated that it also depends if you get pulled over if an officer just "feels" like giving you a ticket.

I have also been told by others that there is no leway at all?

which is it?

no, there isn't.
    sigpic

I don't agree with your opinion, but I respect its straightforwardness in terms of wrongness.

Comment

It would depend upon IL vehicle code.

I was a CA cop/sgt. before I was a CO cop.

In CA the law was 22350 CVC exceeding the posted limit...one mile over and you're there. Did I write it? No. Did I stop for one mile over? Never.

In CO there are separate sections for speed ranging from 1-4 miles over, 5-9 miles over, 10-19 miles over, and 20 miles over. The section for 1-4 miles over the posted speed limit carries no points and no fine.
      "You're never fully dressed without a smile."

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Three things I know for sure: (1) No bad deed goes unrewarded, (2) No good deed goes unpunished, and (3) It is entirely possible to push the most devoted, loyal and caring person beyond the point where they no longer give a 5h!t.

Comment

Originally posted by Kieth M. View Post
        It would depend upon IL vehicle code.

I was a CA cop/sgt. before I was a CO cop.

In CA the law was 22350 CVC exceeding the posted limit...one mile over and you're there. Did I write it? No. Did I stop for one mile over? Never.

In CO there are separate sections for speed ranging from 1-4 miles over, 5-9 miles over, 10-19 miles over, and 20 miles over. The section for 1-4 miles over the posted speed limit carries no points and no fine.
        Kinda defeats the purpose of a ticket huh?
        sigpic

Comment