Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Officers with Law Degrees

Hello everyone,

I recently graduated from law school and got my masters in criminal justice at the same time. My law school ... well lets say isn't one of the most prestigious in the country so jobs are few and far between.

The reason I got my masters in CJ was that before I went to law school, I had planned on becoming a police officer. I always felt that you have to pay your dues, whether on the force or working as a clerk in a law library.

I'm planning on taking the PT tests in a few different locations, but my question is thus. Will I be deemed over-qualified or .. how should i say this ... looked at like "Why does he want to be a cop? " If i make the force.

I'm just nervous because my career progression is a little out-of-wack compared to what most people do. Eventually i'd like to be a city prosecutor or D.A or an instructor at an academy or similar institution.

So ... if anyone has any opinions on the subject, positive or negative, i'd love to hear them.

Thanks!!
    Dallas Police Dept -

Applied - January 09
    Detroit Testing Weekend - Passed - 3/28-3/29
    No information since.

Winston Salem Police Dept -

Applied - January 09
    Sent in BI paperwork - January 09
    POPAT/Written Test/ Interview - May 09 - Passed
    Rejected - June 6th.

Fayetteville NC Police Dept

Applied - January 09
    POPAT/Written Test - May 09 - Passed
    F-3 Sent - May 09

It's my 2 cents, my opinion, and I could be wrong.

I am a Police Recruiter. My preferred candidates are sworned law enforcement officers, college graduates, and separating service members. It would appear as if you are in the preferred hiring group.

I encourage all LE to continue their education. Here in NC to be competitive for chief of any of the larger agencies that person must have a masters degree. My previous assignment was as a fraud unit supervisor. All the members of that unit had a 4 year degree.