300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NEW Senate Bill-960 California allowing Non-U.S. Citizen applicants

Is anyone familiar with the newly introduced California Senate Bill-960 currently being finalized? SB-960 will effectively remove the current U.S. residency requirements for applicants who are "legally authorized to work in the United States."

So anyone on a valid work visa, students authorized to work, or of course, Green Card holders.

Although it hasn't finalized, I would assume it'll be signed and take effect over the coming months.

Wondering if any of the recruiting units at various California LE agencies are taking this into consideration and clarifying guidelines for future applicants.

Not seeing the problem. Legal residents are legal residents.

Colorado has allowed legal residents to apply for years. It’s up to individual agencies, some allow non citizens some don’t.

I know several state troopers who are UK citizens.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Comment

Originally posted by FedLEOnorth View Post
      Is anyone familiar with the newly introduced California Senate Bill-960 currently being finalized? SB-960 will effectively remove the current U.S. residency requirements for applicants who are "legally authorized to work in the United States."

So anyone on a valid work visa, students authorized to work, or of course, Green Card holders.

Although it hasn't finalized, I would assume it'll be signed and take effect over the coming months.

Wondering if any of the recruiting units at various California LE agencies are taking this into consideration and clarifying guidelines for future applicants.