Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Current Student Seeking Advice Regarding Past History

Hello!
    I am currently a student studying Criminal Justice and Psychology. I will graduate in May of 2022 with a Bachelor's degree in both and most likely an overall GPA above 3.5. I have a couple of things in my past history that I fear may disqualify me entirely from consideration. In high school, I experimented with a few drugs, specifically, LSD (2 times), Psilocybin (3 times), and frequent marijuana usage. I graduated in 2017 so by the time I apply it will have been 4-5 years since. All of this is in my past and I cannot make excuses for this other than that I was a naive teenager unsure of what my future career would be, which isn't a great excuse. Besides these things, my background is essentially perfectly clean. I've never stolen and only have one speeding ticket from when I was 17. I am wondering if this will entirely disqualify me? I hope that the changes I made over the last few years can help to overlook the mistakes made, however, I recognize that there are consequences to these actions. I realize these are serious issues when it comes to being hired and I am unsure of what I can do to become a more appealing candidate. I've had steady job history, going on 5 years at my current one. Any information you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

Originally posted by CRJstudent7 View Post
    Hello!