300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another set of Backgroud Questions...sorry

I posted this on another forum while I was awaiting posting authorization on this one and didn't get a lot of feedback I hope I can get some more constructive responses here.

So I know you get a lot of these types of questions all of the time, and for that I apologize in advance. Obviously my background isn't perfect or else I wouldn't be asking you all to give me advice.

Let me start off by telling you about my current situation. I am a college student and have taken only general education classes so far, however I am seriously considering declaring my major as criminal justice and seeking employment with a police agency after I graduate, which will be in 2-3 years. I know that this is a long way off but I want to be sure that my background is not so serious as to get me immediately disqualified. Basically I want to know if choosing this plan for my future is worthwhile or if I will graduate only to find that there will be no future for me in law enforcement.

On to the bad parts.

When I was 13-14 I was with a friend who got caught shoplifting, I myself was not but I knew he was and did not report him. I don't recall ever being "arrested", as in I was never mirandized or told that I was under arrest. I did have to wait with an officer for my parents to pick me up and I was told to do 20 hours of community service, which I did. I never had to go to court or speak with a judge and was told that if I did the community service the incident would be removed from my permanent record on my eighteenth birthday. I do know that expunged charges still show up on background checks for employment, but I'm not ever sure if I was acctually charged with anything. Is there a way to find out?