300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College Majors/Minors for Getting Hired In Federal Law Enforcement

I am currently a college sophomore getting my bachelor's degree in Homeland Security with a minor in Criminal Justice. I would like to eventually work for ICE HSI after graduation. I do not have military experience. Super clean background, tons of volunteer work, very experienced with firearms, and I currently work in the banking industry. I am looking for other things to add to my resume. I was told that adding another minor could help with this. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I could minor in that would be beneficial to a law enforcement career? Any suggestions on what I could do to further add to my resume?

Journalism or literature. Writing effectively and accurately will put you head and shoulders above most of the college graduates applying these days. It's a skill you'll use your entire career.
    183 FBINA

Comment

Accounting and to a lesser extent finance. Your banking experience will be helpful.

Comment

A language skill couldn’t hurt.
        “Right now I'm having amnesia and déjà vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.” - Steven Wright

US Army MP (95B) 1992-1997
        DOJ Agent/ DHS Officer 1997 to Present

Comment

Originally posted by Exbpa340 View Post
          A language skill couldn’t hurt.
          Do you have a particular language you'd recommend? In order to get my degree I have to be proficient in Spanish so I'd really consider a language other than spanish but I'd want it to be one that I would use.

Comment

I will quote the instructor who taught me during Parole training who was a former cop. "Get experience, then apply to the Feds because they are always hiring". The two who are in the federal system that posted already in your thread will tell you that your experience is going to weigh much more heavily than your education.

Comment