300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Apply or Not To Apply?

A little bit of background: I am currently 20, a full-time college student (criminal justice, which was a mistake but at least I enjoy what I'm learning), and working over full-time (45-50 hours a week). I will graduate with my bachelor's next summer (2021; I completed my associate's degree in high school). I have recently been working on getting myself in shape. It's a slow-going process (my endurance for running is god-awful and I have very little upper body strength), made slower by the fact that I'm so busy. My local police department is hiring starting this November; because I will be 21 before the academy starts, I am eligible to apply. I know that realistically, I will not be hired on my first try; in reality, I would be grateful to get past the first oral board. I'd like to try, though, as I understand doing oral boards is the best way to prepare for the oral board. My problem, however, is that I'm unsure I'll be in shape enough to do the fitness test if I were to get that far. I don't want to waste the police department's time, especially if it were to leave a bad mark on my record for the next time I try to apply, but I also want to take advantage of any chance I get, both to get a better feel for the department's hiring process, and also just to put my hat in the ring. Would applying and doing miserably on the fitness test affect my future attempts to apply?

Because I feel like I sound lazy here- I'm training as much as possible on my schedule and am on a strict diet to lose weight. I'm seeing progress, just not quickly enough to feel comfortable in my ability come PAT time. And if it matters, I live in a large town / small city with a population of around 450,000. Applications open once or twice a year depending on need.

Originally posted by babybrass View Post