300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Security Experience?

I have recently applied for a Detention Officer position with my Sheriffs Office so I can gain some GOOD experience in LE. I don't see why I wouldn't get hired, seeing as they need hundreds of officers here. However, if for some reason I'm DQd or whatever, do you folks think working in security would be a plus when applying to be a police officer position down the road? I'm 22 and I have over 4 years of work experience, all in customer service, 1 year as a supervisor.
    I hear from some people that it doesn't really matter, others say it does. Any ideas? Thanks!

What departments/agencies are typically looking for is good, solid, stable employment. Being a SO, won't necessarily help, but it won't hurt either.
    "Think like a man of action, act like a man of thought" ~Henri Louis Bergson

ComptonPOLICEGANGS.com

Comment

Security Experience

What agencies are looking for is solid, dependable, work historys. Working in the private security industry will not give you a leg up over other candidates.What I am saying is, don't go into private security solely for the purpose of later entering law enforcement. It simply doesn't really help.

Comment

Originally posted by PhilipCal View Post
        What agencies are looking for is solid, dependable, work historys. Working in the private security industry will not give you a leg up over other candidates.What I am saying is, don't go into private security solely for the purpose of later entering law enforcement. It simply doesn't really help.
        why wouldnt it help? what jobs would you prefer to work for as a stepping stone into law enforcement?

Comment

Security Experience

Originally posted by sabbs_88 View Post
          why wouldnt it help? what jobs would you prefer to work for as a stepping stone into law enforcement?