Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Policy Variation Between States

Ill try and keep this brief,
    Im wondering what I should expect in regard to how/if my adherence to marijuana law will effect my status as an applicant. While I have never been a huge fan of marijuana, I did have a brief stint (2 months or so) where I tried it to see if it would help relieve pain from an injury that I got playing sports in highschool. I tried it (approx. 10-20 times) over a few month span when it became legal in Oregon. I have since moved to Texas, and am finding that departments are not out right DQ'ing me over this, but have said that it may be a speed bump down the line. My history other than this is very clean, I have never received any sort of moving violation, never been detained or arrested, never tried any other drug, I have a college degree, and I have responsible credit. Im wondering if I should be concerned moving forward? I would never lie on an application, but ive been wondering if working another job and getting some distance between this usage and my application might be well served? All marijuana usage was in college. I have never used marijuana outside the bounds of legality, as I have always conducted myself with a career in law enforcement in mind.
    Last edited by flyinhawaiin; 11-19-2019, 10:57 AM.

How long ago since last use?

Comment

Early 2018

Comment

Time and distance from your earlier decision making. I would suggest being completely upfront and forthcoming in all of your application steps, make no effort to conceal your past decisions and actions. At the same time you must keep in mind that you are competing against all other applicants in the hiring pool, thus those with similar credentials (academic, experience, etc) but without your history of MJ use will likely be hired before you will be considered further.

Comment

• flyinhawaiin
          flyinhawaiin commented
          Editing a comment