300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Police Academy and getting paid State of Texas

I currently work for the Sheriff Office here in Texas. I will not be disclosing what County. I work as a Detention Officer.

My plan was to stay with the Sheriff Office as a Detention Officer for 18 months, then go to the Police Academy. Then work as a deputy in patrol. Then I ran into a problem,

I love the Job in Detention and everyone I work with. However the pay is terrible. I have a family. I make 2,000 per month. I need to make $3,000 just to be able to afford to pay ALL my bills and have money for food.

I have been working in Detention and working a part time job just to be able to get by. The worst part is they don’t pay you deputy pay, while your at the police academy.

So the the idea of going through the police academy and working a part time job, is a big no. I can’t go through the academy for 5-6 months with 2000 per month. We would starve, and probably get evicted or something because we can’t pay our bills with that income. And I wouldn’t be able to go to the academy and work a part time job because the academy will take too much of my life with studying and making time for sleep and working a second Job. It’s just not possible.

I really want to be a Police Officer, the job I know I will love and the pay will be rewarding for me and my family. We wouldn’t struggle anymore like I am now.

- My question is is it possible for me to go to an agency that I wanna work that does not send recruits to the academy and me offer, to pay for the academy myself, and the aganecy sponsor me and put me on payroll and get paid While at the academy. Then graduate, and get hired as a police Officer.

or - pay for the police academy myself and some how get paid while going to the academy without an agency?

Like how how they pay you to go to college or university or something?

Are any of these possible?