300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The application process and meeting requirements

Today I just got my first email back from an agency in regards to my application that I had sent out, they decided that it was going to not referred for further consideration because it did not indicate that I met the minimum requirements for this position. I love LE and really want to make this my career, but I am concerned that I will not make the cut at the other agencies. I am currently a college student with only one more term left before graduating, and I really haven't gotten much work experience. I had decided that I wanted to put everything I had into college and do my very best so I did not seek out a job while I've been at college. I have completed all my testing such as the ORPAT and the Frontline exam and passed the examinations. Currently I do have four more applications out which is a lot but two of the agencies I applied to stated they were open through the NTN but I discovered that they were not open on the city government websites, and the third is building an ongoing eligibility list. I do have two other agencies that I am very interested in but at this time they are not open to applicants, I have however gotten into contact with one of the agencies to see when the next cycle of applications will begin and now have a meeting with a member of the recruiting team. Is 6-7 applications a lot for an applicant? I have begun documenting each and every single application I have sent out with the date and time so that I can provide any agency with a very thorough record. Would you recommend seeking out employment for the real world experience or can I use the life experience that I have gotten from 4 years of education? Thank you so much for your time and help.

You'll get way more no's than yes's.