300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Easier to get hired on as a Reserve?

Like the title says, are background investigators a little more leinant when it comes to hiring a Reserve? I ask this question because I graduated from a California P.O.S.T Academy in September 30, 2006. I have applied to four local agencies and have been disqualified by each of them, fustrating to say the least. I do carry some baggage when it comes to my background, however I am 100% forthcoming and honest. At this point I am getting a little fustrated, so I was thinking of applying as a Reserve officer. The reason I am thinking of going this route because a Captain who was teaching our class said for those of us that have background issues we might think about getting hired as a Reserve because usually they are willing to take a chance on you. I am willing to get hired as a Reserve to prove myself to the department, but am I wasting my time. In the meantime I am a full time student and have two classes left for my Associate of Science, I am also 23 years old. Here in California to be a level I Reserve officer, I believe you have to be P.O.S.T certified, how many people are running around with a P.O.S.T and are willing to work for FREE!! Thanks for your time. I will never give up, keep in mind out of 43 graduating cadets, I was ranked #7 Academically and top 5 overall, also won the defensive tactics award.

most CA agencies have the same strict hiring standards as full time peace officers. the background investigations are the same. so if you've been DQ'ed from 4 agencies, then it won't look good even for a reserve position.

OCSD was scrutinized harshly because Sheriff Carona hired his friends as reserves w/o going through any process. He just gave badges and guns out. As a result one of his friends pulled out his gun and badge on a golf course. But this is a whole different story.