Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Experienced Canadian police officer moving to the US. Options in LE?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Experienced Canadian police officer moving to the US. Options in LE?

Greetings,

This topic has been discussed before; however, there seemingly has been some changes in policy and law regarding certain law enforcement agencies’ ability to hire non-US citizens.

I’m a serving Canadian police officer looking to move down to the US with my wife, and I’d like to continue a career in law enforcement.

I thought I’d reach out to the community to get some feedback on what my potential law enforcement career options may be, especially in the state of California of which I intend on moving to.

I am a late 30s male Canadian citizen, with 17 years of policing service experience.

I’ve worked in uniformed municipal policing and have over a decade of federal policing experience with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

I’m currently a supervisor and federal investigator with extensive experience in transnational organized crime, national security, commercial crime etc.

I’ve worked extensively with the DEA, FBI, DHS, HSI, INTERPOL etc. and have served on several international policing missions with the UN and NATO.

Once moved down to the US, I would like to either continue in policing which seems impossible at the moment due to US residency requirements, or work in a similar field either in the public or private sector.

I’m also willing to work within a civilian position or as part of admin/support staff within a law enforcement agency.

I also possess a BA and a Master’s degree in business management.

I know I’d be great value added to any law enforcement agency and any feedback regarding what my options may be would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Federal LE is out of the question due to age (not to mention immigration status).