300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What PDs and SOs are most desperate?

I am POST certified in Colorado. I put myself through Academy... Bad idea. I should have gotten sponsored first, not only would it have saved me money, but I would have had a better idea how hard it would be for me to get hired.

I think I have some things in my background which are not disqualifying, but do put me in the "Plan B" file.
    I have no military experience, I have speeding tickets, I dont test well, and have asthma.

I have a couple things on paper that weed me out when there is competition around.
    However, I do think I have a good command presence along with patience and active compassion. While I fail the 1.5 mile run, I can dead lift 500 pounds and am a good shot. I am not socially awkward and have a genuine desire to display the more noble virtues within my community..... but I will never get the ability to display those good things unless I am given the chance.

I think its time to branch out of my state. I don't want to work in a Jail, but I will if that is the only option. (I've heard horror stories about people being in corrections for 5+ years. and hating every moment.)

Ive heard there are PDs and SOs that will take you if you have a pulse.... where are those places?
    I have about 9 months to get hired before my POST expires, so im looking for a Cheif or Sheriff who is as desperate as I am. Anywhere in the united states.

I know I don't look very good as a candidate by basically asking "who is so desperate that they have lowered their standards to the floor?".... but I am at the point where I have to be honest about where I am before I work myself up.

We don’t hire “desperate “ people. You have issues with your background, you are out of shape.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

When it comes to Cardio... ya. You could say that. Not generally though, not when I do pullups with 135 hanging off the weight belt.