300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Go to academy before being hired?

Hello! So my wife and I plan on moving out of state once she graduates college. At the university she goes to there's a basic academy course. I'm considering going to the course so I can have it under my belt and get post certified. I know that it doesn't always transfer from state to state so I'm just wondering if this is a good idea or if I should just wait. I have my bachelor's already and I have 1 semester left of the 9/11 gi bill so I don't necessarily need my tuition paid for by a department. Thanks in advance for any advice!

If you're set on moving out of state, it's probably a waste of time. Depending on the state you're in and where you're going, part or none of your certification may transfer (you will always be required to take certain refreshers like state law, firearms, domestic violence, etc, when transferring from state-to-state). Also, certification isn't non-expiring...you would have to get and keep a commission withing a certain period of time to remain certified.

You'd probably be better off putting your time into researching departments in the area where you plan to move to see what their requirements are. Some departments, for example, won't care if you're certified and will always send you to an academy of their choosing.
    Last edited by Bing_Oh; 05-02-2019, 09:52 AM.
    "He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."
    -Friedrich Nietzsche

Comment

Originally posted by Bing_Oh View Post
      it's probably a waste of time.
      Spot on.