300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• May I have your opinions please?

I'm really interested in a career in law enforcement and with that said, I have a few ideas in mind that I think might help me be more competitive against the other candidates. If anyone would be so kind as to share their opinions concerning my ideas, I would be very grateful.

1. Start volunteering. All of the PDs in the area have volunteer opportunities and it seems like a good way to get some experience as well as my foot in the door.

2. Apply for a 911 Dispatcher position. I figure this will also provide a ton of relevant experience and may help my chances as I will then already be an employee of a police department. (I have over 5 years of customer service experience, 1+ in a high volume telephone service center.)

3. Get even more in shape. I've been working on physical conditioning for the past 3 months and I've made some nice gains. However, I know I still have a lot of work to do. My goal is not to meet the minimum qualifications, but to exceed them.

4. Start taking some college classes. I plan to do this for obvious reasons.

Any advice that you folks can offer would be great! If you have any other suggestions that you would like to give, I would appreciate it as well.

Opinions Please