300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LEO with no Military Background?

How important is a military background to being accepted into a police academy?

I am a 24 y/o near-college graduate with no military experience, though I am fairly familiar with firearms. Obviously, I'll have to work in patrol, but my interest in Law Enforcement is a bit more on the "nerdy" side (I'm hoping to eventually work with forensics, CIS, etc.).

Do most departments prefer/favor applicants with a military background, or is someone like me, a nerd with a Psych degree, going to have an even shot of getting into the academy?

Military experience isn't anywhere near as necessary as it once was. I'd say that 3/4 of my (small) department has no military experience. Departments are more often looking for clean backgrounds and life experience.

Now, most departments probably still give points for military on their civil service exams, but more and more departments are also giving points for college degrees. it can be rather department-specific, so do your research.
    "He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."
    -Friedrich Nietzsche

Comment

Thanks for replying, Bing_Oh!

Originally posted by Bing_Oh View Post
      Departments are more often looking for clean backgrounds and life experience.
      What, in your opinion, constitutes a reasonable amount of "life experience"?

I've been working full-time since I was 18, and I'm currently working as a yard jockey/security guard at Amazon while I finish school. Again, I definitely don't have the life experience of those that served overseas, but I haven't been a deadbeat at any point in my life either.

Comment

Through your work and personal history as an adult, have you resolved interpersonal conflicts without violence? Have you paid your bills? Can you relate to the community you may be serving?