Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

LEO's...I'm looking for things to add to the resume...

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LEO's...I'm looking for things to add to the resume...

I've been applying to different agencies in CT for a little over a year now..since my senior year in college.

I'm now graduated and have applied to 8 agencies total now. Tests have come and gone. I've passed some and failed some. I've taken polygraphs, passed one, didn't receive the results from another one, and I'm waiting for results from a current one. I've been let out of the process after two polygraphs but before the full BI began.

I know this is a long process, but I won't stop applying until I'm hired. The job hunt to become a police officer is the hardest thing I've ever had to do; i'm impressed with myself and that i'm still hanging in there.

My resume as is, is nothing great. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice (123 credits), 2 x 120 hour internships with a local pd and CT State Police. I'm moderately fluent in spanish, I have a certificate for NRA Basic Pistol Course (for whatever that is worth) 3.02 GPA in major, 2.89 total gpa (which is a still a B- but it looks sub-standard in its number form)

What else should I be doing aside from just applying?

Some of my ideas: get CPR certified, volunteer work at a soup kitchen, do more ride-alongs.

Do Police Departments especially like these sorts of activities?

Would getting a CCW (pistol permit) and then showing responsibility with that be advised? Because it's asked on most personal history reports if you have a Weapons Permit, and if so has it been revoked, etc etc.

I just indicate "I will be applying for one ASAP or in the near future"

-----

This is the first time i've actually asked the forum for some help, so thanks.