300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dui 4 Years, Adw As A Minor

So I've applied to a few departments last year. I passed the written, physical, and oral boards with all of them. When I got to the Backgrounds I was DQ'd or put on an eligibility list. One of the BI's told me to put myself through the academy and to try again in a year. So I've enrolled in a police academy and graduate in early December(Modular Academy-since I work full time). I was hoping to graduate in a uniform, so I was going to start putting out applications in July/August. Should I go ahead as planned or wait until I graduate in December and have that POST certificate? My background is a little shady........I have an assault with a deadly weapon as a minor( I hit a guy with a cane once, no GBI, did not receive medical attention) and a DUI in August of 2003. Since my DUI I've set a goal of becoming a peace officer. I have some college credits in Admin. of Justice and have been in a few citizens academy's and ride-alongs. I 've also been employed with the same company for 12 years. Any suggestions?

Anxious!!

How long ago was that assault (even though as a minor)? 4 years from DUI, still might be too close. I think you'll have to wait another 2-3 before that becomes a minor/less of an issue. Good luck regardless. I wish Illinois had where you could put yourself through the academy.

Comment

My assault charge was in 1993-14 years ago

Comment