Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possible background issues? Need advice!

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible background issues? Need advice!

OK, here goes.. I am a 24 year old male from NJ. I've wanted to become a police officer since I was very young. However, I had a rough couple of years when I was a little bit younger and now I think I'm going to have a problem getting on the job.

Here is my first problem. Right after I turned 18, I was arrested for DUI. It was just a really stupid mistake that I made being young and thinking I could get away with it, so I paid my fines and went to the classes and the whole bit. I took it very seriously, and nothing like that has ever happened again.

I was an average student in high school, B's and C's mostly. September 11th happened in the 2nd week of my Junior year of high school. Caught up in the post 9/11 times, I dropped out of high school, quickly obtained my GED, and joined the Army.

While I was in basic training, my Father had a massive heart attack. By the time I returned home, it was evident that since my father couldn't work anymore, my family would probably lose our house. My brother was still in high school and my Mother wasn't making much money.. I made a bad decision and didn't report to my AIT training, a few days later I contacted someone and told them my situation and they told me if I didn't report I would be separated for not reporting to phase 2 of training. It was an administrative discharge, and I went to work with a friends company working 18 hours a day 6 or 7 days a week (very very good money) to make enough to pay the mortgage and property taxes and everything that was starting to slip into debt for my family.

Now, things are very stable. Everyone in the family is healthy, and I'd like to do what I can to get back on track and get into the LE field.