Collapse

Leaderboard Tablet

Collapse

Leaderboard Mobile

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much debt is considered a disqualifier?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much debt is considered a disqualifier?

My wife and I have six figures of Student loan debt. It is from her going to Dental School and I went back and finished my masters. I currently work as an engineer and my wife as a Dentist. We are paying the loan down and our credit scores are good. I have always found police work to be interesting and have been considering paying my way through the academy part-time. As I read this forum I see how hard it is for perfect candidates to land employment. Would my situation be a major drawback in finding part-time police work? Unfortunately there isn't any unpaid reserve positions which would be ideal for me. So I guess I will need to enter the ultra competitive ranks of paid law enforcement.

Obviously every agency is different, but in general the amount of your debt is secondary to the type of debt and payment status of your debt.

What I mean by that is this:

If Applicant A and Applicant B each have $10,000 in debt, but A has a student loan and B has maxed out Visa card, Applicant A will be alright, while B will have some explaining to do. If Applicant C has exactly the same amount, but in gambling debt, he’s done.

Same goes for payment status. If Applicant A has high credit card debt, but a reasonable explanation and current with all payments, they will be better than the Applicant with delinquent student loans.

It really boils down to financial responsibility.
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Originally posted by glockwork View Post