300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The "Brady list"

What exactly is this and how does it work? Is it something you are on before you're even hired? Or can you only get put on this list while you're employed with a dept?

If you’re on it, you’re screwed.
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

That seems to be the general consensus that I'm getting haha. But I'm more just trying to understand what it is and how it works. Is it publically accessible? Is it a national list? How does one get on it?

Comment

You can’t be on the Brady list before you are hired. You won’t be hired. Being on this list means you are known to have perjured yourself under sworn testimony.

Brady vs Maryland requires the prosecutor to disclose potentially exculpatory information, like if an officer is found to lied on the stand or in a report.

Each prosecuting office (DA, States Attorney) maintain their own list. There is no national database. It is not publicly available. Each DA develops their own rules, or each State develops their own rules, depending on where you live.
      Last edited by RGDS; 09-12-2018, 12:18 PM.
      semper destravit

Comment

RGDS and SunDevil, thank you for taking time to fill me in there. I had read about it and was getting some conflicting info on what exactly this list was and how you ended up on it. Good info.

Comment

It's very rare. I personally know of only of a couple situations where LEO had Brady issues.

People sometimes think getting jammed up administratively (i.e.- false time sheet) is Brady. Not the case. It's knowing provide false testimony in court or false information in an affidavit.