300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I doomed for failure?

I have been a corrections officer for 2 years and am 21 yrs old and I want to switch to police work. The problem is when I was 18 I stole from an employee for the amount of $300 not cash just merchandise, also I confessed to driving under the influence of alcohol multiple times as a teenager and have been written up at work for very minor petty things, I seem to not even make it passed the background packet over view. Am I doomed? Should I look for other careers?

You’re done. Be thankful you even have a job...which with your issues shows a lack of quality and a huge liability for your Dept.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

The first thing that comes to mind is, how did you pass the background for corrections officer?
      Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Originally posted by Jjsav View Post
        I have been a corrections officer for 2 years and am 21 yrs old and I want to switch to police work. The problem is when I was 18 I stole from an employee for the amount of $300 not cash just merchandise, also I confessed to driving under the influence of alcohol multiple times as a teenager and have been written up at work for very minor petty things, I seem to not even make it passed the background packet over view. Am I doomed? Should I look for other careers?
        My best advice is that you and this bozo from another thread start your own security firm together:

https://forum.officer.com/forum/publ...es#post6666693

A few name suggestions:
        "Thieves R Us"
        "Rent a Crook"
        "Wanna B Team"
        "Steal Security

I'm sure other forum members can think of additional names, so at least your visit to the forum was not a complete bust.

Comment

Originally posted by L-1 View Post
          The first thing that comes to mind is, how did you pass the background for corrections officer?