300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• At will agencies.

are “at will” agencies harder to get onto, especially if you have no previous experience or certification? This would be in Texas that I’m specifically referencing.

On the surface I would say "at will" agencies are easier to get into for the most part.

......No hiring rules (Civil Service)
    .....Ability of the chief/sheriff to fire at the drop of a hat
    .....turn over higher

But I have no experience since Iowa is a union state (for the most part)
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Honestly it kind of depends on the agency. Sometimes they are "easier" in terms of a more streamlined process. Since they are at will many skip any type of written test, PAT, or oral board, leaving only background, psych, and possibly medical. The flip side is that many at will agencies operate on a "good ole boy" system and you often have to know someone to get hired (or even considered for hire). You are also at the mercy of the chief/sheriff/mayor etc and can be fired for no reason at all. I worked for a small at will agency my first few years in LE while I was testing with large civil service agencies. My time there served it's purpose, but honestly I would rather work for an agency with civil service rules and protection any day.

Comment

It depends on the agency. Some have a lengthy process with numerous tests and interviews to complete. Others have nothing more than an interview and a background check.

IMO "at will" agencies are better because it's easier to get rid of the bad apples. However the good ole boy system can be a factor in it.

Comment

Originally posted by westside popo View Post