300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What would you do??

Here is the thing. I'm 27 years old, and I have been in the hiring process for a few months now. Law Enforcement IS what I am going to do for the rest of my life. BUT... I can't get into the department I want until the beginning of 08. So.... I am currently bartending because I quit my last job to persue the LE process. The thing is, I have a degree, and I hate wasting my education as a bartender, not that there is anything wrong with it, I just didn't spend all that money to do something I could have done without it.
    Now, the main guy told me to apply for Police Communications position until I can become a police officer. I did that, took the exam a couple weeks ago and still haven't heard anything. HERE IS THE PROBLEM. I have been offered a really good job in the same field I was in before, and it starts out about $20k more than the police communications job. So, should I take it for the next 9-10 months and save up and pay some bills, or hold out for the police communications and if I get it use the experience to make me a better officer? I'm confused and would love some advice. I don't know if it's fair to the employer to have them spend time and money on me when I KNOW I will be leaving in less than a year to join the police department. What would you do??

First off, I'd recommend following your heart.
    Second off, I'd recommend following your wallet.