Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brutally Honest Opinions

Hi,
    I know you guys hate these type of questions, but I thought I’d give it a shot anyways. I want to gauge my strength as a candidate and to see if it is worth self-sponsoring for Police Academy. I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science in 2012 and I was a member of two different honor societies. After I graduated, I worked on a Political Action Commitee. In 2013, I decided I wanted to see the world, so I bought a one way ticket to Thailand. During my 2.5 years in Thailand I taught English to local children, earned a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certificate, and my Professional Teaching License for the state of Florida. I’m currently on my second year as a public school teacher in South Florida. I have zero debt and a credit score of 771. I do have a MAJOR negative that I think will sink my chances. When I was 21, I received a DWI and Leaving the Scene of an Accident charge on 7/1/10. The background story for DWI was that I was drinking too much,obviously, and wrecked my car. Thankfully the only person hurt was my [email protected]$$ self. I had a concussion and was disoriented, which led me to wander away from the accident (about one street away) and earn myself the Leaving the Scene of an Accident charge. I don’t have a drinking problem and I haven’t even had a parking ticket since then. I’m not making any excuses, but I hope my idiotic decision didn’t sink my chance. If you guys believe I have absolutely no chance of being a LEO, then I will be content with serving the community through teaching. Thanks for your advice and opinions!
    Last edited by TeachertoPolice; 01-08-2018, 09:59 PM.

Try to apply if you want. Worst that can happen is they'll say no. As for your strength as a candidate... very low. I 100% would NOT self sponsor.

Comment