Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background check with a DIsmissed DUI

police forum
    Last edited by MikeR860; 02-23-2018, 12:48 PM.

It’s going to be a major hurdle.
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Originally posted by MikeR860 View Post
      Will I be able to become a police officer and pass my background check if one year ago I got a dui? I got the case dismissed 10 months earlier then the law states through self representation and completed the AEP class in 5 weeks instead of 10. It was the biggest mistake of my life... prior to this I have a clean driving record, no tickets or citations, college grad in Criminal Justice, interned in the chiefs office office , worked as a student worker at a police department...!since then incident I haven’t had a drink, and have been avidly looking and supporting programs like MADD to help support and fund ther it cause ... not to make it look good but because of the risks and dangers drinking and driving comes with... Any luck? And I have my record dismissed, but it will show on my dmv record
      Let me start by saying being CONVICTED of a DUI is a big deal in law enforcement hiring.

But the purpose of a background investigation is to investigate what you are as a person. That includes delving into things that you did, that didn't involve convictions. In this case You drove while drunk.................and it sounds like you got arrested.

It really doesn't matter the reasons behind you not having a DUI conviction on your record........what matters was your conduct that got you noticed by the police and arrested/ cited / charged.

Many times in life you are going to find out that a mistake you made a long time ago will haunt you . This really wasn't a mistake........it was a criminal act.

You will have a huge hurdle to jump