Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Background Issue - should I bother applying?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background Issue - should I bother applying?

Hey guys,

So I had a question that I haven't seen answered on here, even after searching. I'm a college student about to graduate soon and apply for law enforcement jobs. The only issue I see myself having on the background questionnaire is that I was accused of sexual harassment in high school. Now please don't prejudge me and take into account my explanation here:

I went to a private Catholic school that was pretty strict about disciplinary matters. After the accusation, I was brought in by the Dean of Student Affairs and explained what had happened. He obviously talked to the girl who accused me, and she did not want to file charges, or even have me expelled from school. After the Dean explained what happened to the girls parents, they did not want to file charges or have me expelled either. This was partially because the Dean stood up for my character and my integrity. If she or her parents had wanted this, or if the Dean thought I was a liability and thought the issue was serious enough, I would have been expelled in a heartbeat. All I got was a 3 day suspension that didn't even show up on my central school records, and nobody even knew about it in my school.

I have since gone on to have a totally normal life, gone to college and joined a Greek organization, and I have NEVER had any issue similar to this one since. I have no arrest history and recommendations from all my former employers. However, I understand how this must look to someone who doesn't know me. Would any department even consider hiring me or should I pursue a different career?

Originally posted by BCM1995 View Post
    Hey guys,