300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking Advice

I recently graduated college and I received my bachelors in criminal justice. I have been trying to become an officer since I graduated , I recently passed and oral interview for a police department in Southern California. I was invited to the background process. When I submitted my packet I was asked to withdraw my application because I answer yes to a question that disqualifies me to become an officer. Living in SoCal I frequently travel to Mexico and I had on two occasions had sex with a prostitute in Tijuana. I stated this in my background packet and was told to withdraw because this disqualifies me. The background investigator told me no department in California will hire me because of this. I have never done any drugs, have any violations, done any drugs, and always try to do the right thing. I have been wanting to become a cop for some time and that is the reason why I studied criminal justice. I know what I did is socially unacceptable in the US but because I engaged in this vice in Mexico where it is legal I thought I would be fine. I did not want to lie in my background packet and that is why I said I have paid for sex. I don't know if I should continue trying to become an officer because of what the background investigator told me. I have been testing with multiple departments and I am unsure if I should withdraw all my applications as I would most likely get disqualified because of my engagement in prostitution. Should I consider a different career path?

Originally posted by mr1992 View Post