No announcement yet.

Best Advice You Can Give?

300x250 Mobile

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Advice You Can Give?

Hi everyone...I am a 20 yr old college student in Iowa. I'm majoring in CJ and will probably get a minor in psych. or sociology. I am also a resident advisor here at my college. I am hoping to become a member of the state patrol. I have internship coming up next January in Phoenix with the Phoenix Police Dept. I was curious as to what is something you wish you did to better prepare yourself as a LEO or what is some adivce you could give for someone looking to be a LEO?

Thanks for your help!

Thank you for you reply, I appreciate your help. Do you suggest switching majors in case I have something to fall back on in case a law enforcement career doesn’t work out, or do police agencies prefer non criminal justice type degrees?

we have alot of officers with CJ degrees and that is fine for getting in. But it's the ones with the business majors, etc. that are moving up and running the agency. That's not to say you can't accomplish alot with a degree in CJ, but your options are more open. Plus, when the day comes to retire some 20-25 years from now, you may want to start another career or job to supplement your retirement and you may not want to be a LEO at that point. The business, etc. will help.

Good Luck!

Change Your Major!