300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Uncertainty

I've finally convinced my family to let me try to become an officer. Here's my situation:

I'm a sophomore in college. I'm going for an BS in Accounting and an accelerated 1 year MBA degree. All the departments around here have an age cap (that being 21). I've got roughly two years before I graduate, and then I would like to begin the process.

Two problems.

1. My family has a strong tradition of military service. I'm currently seeking options to attend Marine OCS, or even just enlist and serve out a contract. Not so much before I'm the type of guy that yells "GET SOME" and punches people in the face, but because the GI bill would take care of a FULL YEAR of college tuition and books.

Do police departments accomodate their officers being in the reserve/guard? I'm sure military experience is preferred, but in my case it might be simultaneous.

2. When I was 17, I wrecked my first car. My Neon had been in the garage for electrical work, and shortly before I completely owned a traffic light my entire electrical system fizzled. A woman resembling Michael Jackson saw me wipe out, as did my teenage neighbor. When the officer arrived on-scene, he dismissed my neighbor, and took the elderly Ms. Jackson's words as law. He slapped me with tickets totalling over $1k, and to cover the cost of replacing the light.

Due to the neighbor's mother being a lawyer, the incident was argued down to nothing more than a misdemeanor and the cost of replacing the light (which was struck by lightning the following week).

I'll openly admit that I screwed up and was driving beyond my ability, despite the dealership taking responsibility for any mechanical failures relating to my accident.