300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NYPD or Secret Service Officer?

I'm a college student right now and I'll be transfering to Michigan State University. I'll be majoring in Computer Science with a consentration in Cyber Security and I'll also be majoring in Psychology. By the time I'm done I'll have 2 bachlors degrees from MSU. My long-term goal is to be in the F.B.I. as a Special Agent Investigator. I'm in the Army National Guard part-time right now and my question is, should I go be a police officer in the NYPD to get my law enforcement experience or would being a Secret Service Officer benefit me more? I only plan on being in either the NYPD of Secret Service for about 3 or 4 years before trying to get into the FBI. I know that I can't make detective in the NYPD unless I stay longer then 3 or 4 years...what do you guys suggest I do? Thanks!

deleted...........
    Last edited by Maristguy; 04-16-2006, 08:53 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Maristguy
      Im not a cop but I do know from the application proccess so far and actually talking to a secret service agent today. You wont get hired by the secret service as a special agent, maybe in the uniformed division, but the special agents require 3 years of police experience before they will consider you so you best bet is probly NYPD for a few years.

Thats not true, I am currently at the last step of the hiring process for a special agent in the Secret Service and the agent doing my BI said I should have the job by next week. I only have experience in restaurants and one year of accounting experience.

Comment

Originally posted by Jizzoe007
        Thats not true, I am currently at the last step of the hiring process for a special agent in the Secret Service and the agent doing my BI said I should have the job by next week. I only have experience in restaurants and one year of accounting experience.