Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help With Becoming An Officer

Dear Officers,
    I am starting college in the Spring and started by choosing a Criminal Justice degree. After much thought I am changing my major to mathmatics.

Due to the fact that I really dont know if I have what it takes to become a men in blue. So, as of now, my choices are Math Teacher (which I love math), or police officer - (which I love helping people, and I think will be more exciting )

I am currently an EMT in NJ and love helping people so I get a glance into the law enforcement world. Whether it is assisting PD with a drunk at 1am , or stationing next to them at big high school events.

My plan hopefully - if im accepted - is to become an aux. member of a local PD to see somewhat - what it is like to patrol the streets. In the town in which im looking into - Plainfield, NJ.

After probation, they carry, and respond as a regular police officer. Im hearing horror stories - not about the academy - but about how some sworn police officers hate aux. I just dont want my exp. to be a bad one.

Am I headed down the right path?

Any comments, concerns, or statements would be appr.

Thank You
    NJSPRSEMT

You are right in deciding to change career paths if your heart isn't fully into the possibility of being a full time officer.

As far as officers hating aux. or reserve officers, I don't believe that is true on the whole. I started as an aux. officer, then went to another agency as full time. The reserves we had on my full time agency were quite knowledgeable and did a good job at what they were asked to do. Our rules required them to be with a full time officer at all times. The agency I started with allowed aux. officers to do their own patrol and investigations once they completed training.