300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Disadvantage and Advantage?

Hi folks. I'm a 20 yr old female from a nearby suburb of Boston. I'm looking to have a career in Law Enforcement. I am pursuing a bachelor's degree in Psychology. I'm a 2nd semester Sophomore this fall (a couple wks from now).

I've always felt a need to be a "police officer" but I have no specific preference of a position that I'm looking to obtain but of course something in LE. I've just always wanted to help protect, serve and teach others.

I stand at 4 feet 11 inches (My weight is proportional to my height). Obviously, there is a slight disadvantage in the LE world. I am a 1st Degree Black Belt in Taekwondo. I have been training for 3 years now and I plan to atleast continue my Taekwondo training, to a 2nd or 3rd degree level. Although, I'm not sure that this compensates for the height disadvantage? Does it? How good of a shot do I have?

Please post any thoughts on my situation. I'd love to hear what you guys have to say.

Thanks in advance to any future replies
    Last edited by peemmfivekay; 08-25-2005, 08:47 PM.

[QUOTE=peemmfivekay]Hi folks. I'm a 20 yr old female from a nearby suburb of Boston. I'm looking to have a career in Law Enforcement. I am pursuing a bachelor's degree in Psychology. I'm a 2nd semester Sophomore this fall (a couple wks from now).

I've always felt a need to be a "police officer" but I have no specific preference of a position that I'm looking to obtain but of course something in LE. I've just always wanted to help protect, serve and teach others.

I stand at 4 feet 11 inches (My weight is proportional to my height). Obviously, there is a slight disadvantage in the LE world. I am a 1st Degree Black Belt in Taekwondo. I have been training for 3 years now and I plan to atleast continue my Taekwondo training, to a 2nd or 3rd degree level. Although, I'm not sure that this compensates for the height disadvantage? Does it? Opinions?