300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions... 46 y.o. rookie?

Hello, and thanks in advance for your comments.

As stated, I'm 46 years old, and over the regular course of life (raising a family, earning a living, etc...) I have never gotten into LE. I always had a desire, but my career path seemed to take me on a different journey. Now, the kids are grown, and I'm getting bored with my business. I sell auto parts as a factory rep for a big company. It's my own business, and I've been doing it for twelve years. I'm thinking about getting the CA POST training and becoming a reserve Deputy Sheriff. I'm in good physical shape, and have a level head on my shoulders. What can I expect from the training, and also what can I expect should I end up as a reserve? I'm looking at Sacramento or El Dorado County, CA.

Thanks for your input.

Go for it! I am over 40 and pursuing LE for the first time. You will always regret not trying.

Life begins at 40...

Comment

Obviously, every dept has differnet practices and policies but I've seen a recruit go thru our academy at age 56. He's been in the field about 5 years.

As far as reserves, some dept's use them just to do transports and other assignments to keep the regular patrol guys available. Other depts let you ride with a regular officer as a partner and then some let you ride alone after a while...doing EVERYTHING that a regualr officer would do. Some depts pay their reserves, some don't.
      "Get busy dying or get busy living".....Andy Dufrain, Shawshank Redemption

Comment

You're nuts .................... Pure and simple.
        Ohio has 25 and out at age 48 so where would you be here ?
        Most agencies have a cap of the 30's as top age to hire and with good reason.

46 makes you an old guy in this job.