Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Apply Now, Or Later?

Hello Officers,

I'd like to start this off with saying, "YES!". I have indeed used the search function and have read the sticky before posting. Nothing really turned up that answered my question clearly.

I came here to seek you're honest opinion on my situation. Here is some information about me: I am soon to be 18 years old and approaching graduation quickly. I am a volunteer firefighter for my local department and I enjoy it very much. It's something I truly enjoy but I am drawn to Law Enforcement more and have been since I can remember. I've done very well in school (honor roll level consistently) and have participated in many extracurricular activities in addition to starting my own online business.

I planned on applying and testing for several smaller to medium sized agencies in my neighboring state of Iowa that allow 18 year olds to be hired. I have exchanged e-mails and phone calls with several chiefs that gave me some great insight into their departments and about law enforcement in general. When I asked them their opinions on weather to wait, get an associates or a bachelors then apply or apply outright with nothing other than a high school diploma I never got a clear answer. They all stated they were impressed with my maturity and that I "appeared to be quite intelligent" and encouraged me to apply but also told me that I should consider a degree as well.

In your opinion, should I hold off and attain some sort of college education now; Or should I just go for it and see what happens? I feel that I have a lot to bring to the table and would be quite competitive during the application process and not some 18 year old kid just there for kicks. My youthful adventurous side is telling me to just go for it and see what happens. I also know and understand education is very important not only to get into law enforcement but to be successful down the road.

Thanks!