Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I qualified for the LAPD?

Hello everyone,

I was hoping to get some feedback on passing the LAPD background investigation. I am 22 years old, I graduated from USC with a 3.784 GPA in December 2014, I have a completely clean record, never tried any drugs (not even cigarettes), both of my parents were in the LAPD for 30 years, my older brother is an LAPD sergeant, I am physically fit, very knowledgeable of the department, and I have nothing but positive references to give. I actually even won a scholarship from the LAPD!

What I am worried about is my employment history. I worked two different part-time jobs during school, both of which I worked for over a year and have great references from. However, after I graduated, I worked for a start-up for 5 months (though I was their intern for 4 months leading up, so 9 months total), then left for another position, but left that position after only two weeks because I was extremely uncomfortable with the business's ethics. My managers would come into work intoxicated, perform questionable business practices, gloat about using illegal drugs on the weekends, etc.

Joining that company was a huge mistake on my part. I should have done more research before jumping in. I've been unemployed for 3 months now, but I am about to start a new job next week. Though I've never been fired from any job, that two week position and period of unemployment worries me.