Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For time Out of state applicant (Ohio to Texas) - background and questions

Edit: my title should say "FIRST time out of state applicant" oops

Hey everyone, I'm new to this and this could turn into a lengthy post, but I'll do my best to keep it short and to the point.

I am a 23 year old college senior about to graduate this may with a criminal justice degree. My overall GPA is 3.2 and my major GPA is 3.4
    I am in great physical shape. My vertical is 29 inches, my 300 meter run time is 47 seconds and push-ups/pull-ups/sit-ups are of no issue to me. My 1.5 run time is somewhere around 11 minutes.
    As far as my criminal background goes, I have been pulled over a few times, but never received a ticket. My freshman year of college I received a citation for underage drinking, but because it was my first offense I completed a diversion program and the charges were dropped and my record was expunged.

My work history involves part time jobs since I am a full time student. I've been a personal trainer for most of my employment history.
    My father is a lieutenant and law enforcement runs in my family. I've been on multiple ride alongs through busy night shifts with my dads department and know this is what I want to do.

After all of this... My first question is, is applying to big departments out of state worth the investment despite my lack of experience? I have applied to Austin and am going to apply to Houston. But because of the long testing process, flying repeatedly to Texas could get pricey. Basically I'm hoping my lack of LE experience won't hurt my chances.