300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hiring process while in school

Hey guys so I'm currently a student halfway through to getting my bachelor's. At the recommendation of a former LEO professor I've recently had, I'm think I'm gonna start taking local police civil service exams to not only take the first step, but also to give me some sort of idea what I'll be up against when I take more in the future. However, starting in August of 2015, I'll be in school up to two hours away from where I took any police exams because of school. So I have a couple questions so I can prepare myself for all possible contengencies, and I want a second opinion or two confirming this "early attack" is actually a good idea and not a detrimental one.

1) Is my professor right? Is it really "never too early" to start taking exams?

2) If selected to move further by an agency after a test, is the hiring process something I could do from a distance? I do have a dependable car and don't mind coming back and forth so long as I have ample notice before I'm asked to be anywhere.

3) I absolutely want to work as an LEO someday. You hear a lot about how competitive this sort of career is to secure for yourself right now. If I do end up ultimately receiving some sort of offer of employment while in school, would I be making a bad choice by leaving college to pursue it instead of continuing school? How long would I have to get my academic affairs in order before I would be expected to attend training, generally speaking?

Thanks for any input you guys might have on this topic. I really do appreciate it.